Founder Guides

    Hub71, in5 and DTEC: A Founder's Guide to UAE Startup Hubs

    What Hub71, in5 and DTEC offer founders in 2026: funding, desk and licence costs, eligibility, how to apply, and what to build before you do.

    DevForge Team
    September 28, 202617 Min Read
    Share:

    Last updated: 28 September 2026

    Hub71, in5 and DTEC are the three startup hubs UAE founders ask about most. Hub71 is in Abu Dhabi and is the only one of the three that puts cash into your company: its Access Programme offers AED 250,000 in cash through a SAFE note plus AED 250,000 of in-kind support, but it expects at least one founder to relocate. in5 (in Dubai, run within TECOM's business districts) and DTEC (at Dubai Silicon Oasis) are mainly low-cost ways to get a licence, a desk and visas in Dubai, with mentoring and investor access on top. in5 takes no equity. DTEC is home to the SANDBOX accelerator, which does invest.

    This guide sets out what each hub offers, who it suits, what it costs where the hub publishes a price, and how to apply. Everything below comes from the hubs' own websites as we found them in September 2026. Programmes, prices and cohort dates change often, so check the official page before you decide. This is general information, not legal, tax, visa or financial advice.

    Hub71, in5 and DTEC at a glance

    Hub71 in5 DTEC
    EmirateAbu Dhabi (in ADGM)Dubai (Dubai Internet City, d3, Dubai Production City, Dubai Science Park)Dubai (Dubai Silicon Oasis)
    Best forPre-seed to Series A tech startups ready to relocate and raiseEarly founders with an idea or MVP in tech, media, design or scienceTech startups that want an affordable free zone setup and coworking
    Cash investmentAED 250,000 via SAFE note, with a possible top-up of up to AED 250,000None; in5 takes no equityNone from the coworking plans; SANDBOX accelerator invests US$150,000 via SAFE in startups that reach phase 2
    In-kind supportAED 250,000 of flexible incentives (office, housing, health insurance and services)Subsidised licence, desk and visa costs, mentoring, facilitiesCoworking, company setup, events; SANDBOX adds partner credits
    LicenceADGM tech licenceDubai Development Authority, FZ-LLCFree zone setup through Dubai Integrated Economic Zones Authority
    Published entry priceNo application feeLicence AED 1,000 a year plus desk from AED 12,000 in year 1 (archived price list)Flexi desk AED 18,000 in year 1
    RelocationAt least one founder expected to relocate; on the ground for the first 3 monthsNot stated as a conditionMust use the desk at least 36 hours a month

    Hub71 (Abu Dhabi)

    Hub71 describes itself as Abu Dhabi's global tech ecosystem. It is based in Abu Dhabi Global Market (ADGM), the emirate's international financial centre, and its site says it has onboarded more than 410 startups and works with more than 200 partners.

    Programmes

    Hub71's site lists several tracks:

    • Access Programme: the main 12-month programme with cash and in-kind incentives (details below).
    • Initiate: in Hub71's words, "a venture builder-operated programme designed to help founders transform early-stage ideas into a Minimum Viable Product". When we checked, the FAQ said more details were still to come.
    • MZN x Hub71: a three-month programme for Emirati founders, run with Khalifa Fund.
    • Hub71+ verticals: specialist tracks for Life Sciences, Digital Assets, ClimateTech and AI.
    • Other tracks, including Hub71 Sandbox and an India Immersion Programme. Check the startup page for what is open now.

    What the Access Programme offers

    According to the Access Programme page, startups onboarded receive:

    • "AED 250,000 worth of flexible incentives that can be utilized with a range of service providers". The support services listed include office space, health insurance, housing, workforce support, licensing and visa assistance, marketing, legal and financial support, and back-office services.
    • "AED 250,000 in cash in exchange for equity through a SAFE note".
    • For high-performing startups, a top-up of "up to AED 250,000 in exchange for additional equity".

    The Hub71 FAQ describes the instrument as an uncapped, no-discount, "Future Looking MFN SAFE note", which converts at your next priced round. Hub71 says it does not otherwise invest directly but connects startups with investors.

    Eligibility and relocation

    The FAQ says startups at pre-seed, seed or Series A stage can apply, solo founders can apply, graduates of other accelerators can apply, and startups from anywhere in the world are welcome. There are no application fees.

    The catch is relocation. The Access Programme page says "at least one founder is expected to commit to relocating long-term and building a team out of Abu Dhabi", and the FAQ says founders need to be on the ground for the first three months. You do not have to restrict your operations to Abu Dhabi.

    You will also need an entity in Abu Dhabi. The FAQ says startups "are required to register for an ADGM tech license", set up as a subsidiary of your holding company, and that this happens during onboarding, not before you apply. Hub71's ADGM licence guide says you first need an eligibility letter from Hub71 before applying for the tech startup licence.

    How to apply

    You fill in the application form and upload a pitch deck as a PDF. Hub71 asks the deck to cover the problem, solution, value proposition, business model, competition, market traction, funding history, founding team and your plans for Abu Dhabi. Selection then runs in four rounds:

    1. Application review
    2. The Hub71 team meets shortlisted founders
    3. Partners meet shortlisted founders
    4. A final selection committee

    When we checked in September 2026, Hub71 was recruiting Cohort 21, with a deadline in February 2027 and a programme start in September 2027. It says you will get feedback within three months of applying, and there is a two-month onboarding period before the programme starts. Dates move each cohort, so check the site.

    Who Hub71 suits

    Hub71 suits a founder who wants institutional money and is willing to move to Abu Dhabi. The cash is equity, not a grant, so treat it like any other pre-seed cheque. Because the deck asks for traction and funding history, you will be in a stronger position with a working product and some users than with an idea alone.

    in5 (Dubai)

    in5 is an innovation centre for startups inside TECOM's Dubai business districts. According to Dubai Internet City, it runs four centres:

    • in5 Tech at Dubai Internet City
    • in5 Design at Dubai Design District (d3)
    • in5 Media at Dubai Production City
    • in5 Science at Dubai Science Park

    The same page says in5 has supported more than 940 startups and offers three products: an incubation programme, an annual membership, and hire of venues and facilities such as meeting rooms, editing suites and prototyping labs.

    What in5 offers

    in5's value is a cheap, simple way into Dubai. Its FAQ lists a business setup framework (licence, office space, visas), mentorship, workshops, networking, investor access and use of its creative facilities. Startups can book meeting rooms, editing suites and similar rooms at no cost for up to 2 hours a day.

    Two points from the FAQ matter for fundraising. First, "in5 does not take an equity stake in the startup venture". Second, in5 does not fund startups itself: it introduces startups to investors, and any deal is negotiated between you and the investor. All nationalities can apply.

    Licence and costs

    in5 companies are licensed by the Dubai Development Authority as a Free Zone Limited Liability Company (FZ-LLC), and a BVI or offshore company can own 100% of the startup FZ-LLC.

    The official in5 site (infive.ae) did not load when we tried it in September 2026, so the figures below come from its business setup and FAQ pages as archived in June 2024. Treat them as indicative. They may have changed, so confirm them with in5 directly.

    in5 subsidised price (AED) Year 1 Year 2 Year 3
    Licence1,0001,0001,000
    Co-working desk in in5 buildings12,00015,00018,000
    Dedicated office in in5 buildings30,00035,00040,000

    The archived pages also said:

    • A full licence fee of AED 15,000 a year applies after the incubation period, which is up to 3 years.
    • An establishment card, needed before you can apply for visas, cost AED 2,000.
    • A visa cost roughly AED 1,500 to 1,630 per person from outside the country and AED 3,130 from inside, with the subsidised pricing applying to up to four visas. Visa fees are set by third-party authorities and change.
    • Third-party public liability insurance is mandatory under the TECOM occupancy agreement.

    Eligibility and how to apply

    Dubai Internet City says entrepreneurs with a business idea or a minimum viable product in tech, design or media can apply. If your company is already registered elsewhere and more than a year old, in5 asks tech applicants to describe the activities they plan to carry out under the programme.

    The archived process has five steps: submit an online application about your concept and business model; the in5 team shortlists and invites candidates to present; you pitch to a committee of industry experts and entrepreneurs; the steering committee admits selected startups to the incubator; and you graduate into the alumni network.

    Once in, in5 asks for a progress report every six months covering funding, jobs, major customers and similar results.

    Who in5 suits

    in5 suits a founder who wants to set up in Dubai cheaply, keep all their equity, and build around a community. It is also the easiest of the three to join at the idea stage. It will not fund your build, so you need your own money, angels or a grant to pay for the MVP.

    DTEC (Dubai Silicon Oasis)

    DTEC, the Dubai Technology Entrepreneur Campus, is an initiative of Dubai Silicon Oasis Authority. It calls itself the largest technology innovation hub in the MENA region, with a 10,000 square metre workspace across Dubai Digital Park building A5 and Technohub 1 and 2. Its homepage says it has hosted more than 1,000 startups from 70 nationalities.

    Workspace plans and prices

    DTEC says its plans "include full company setup along with the use of our workspace". These are the published year-one prices from its coworking page:

    DTEC plan Year 1 price Visas
    Flexi desk (hot desk)AED 18,000 a year2
    Fixed desk (dedicated)AED 24,200 a year3
    Private office, furnished (12 to 50 sq m)From AED 47,820 a year2 per desk
    Private office, unfurnishedFrom AED 62,500 a yearBased on space

    The flexi desk price carries a footnote marker, and the page did not show what it refers to. Ask DTEC for a written breakdown of what the year-one figure includes (licence, registration, establishment card, visas) before you sign.

    The DTEC FAQ adds some conditions:

    • It is "not a virtual office". Flexi and fixed desks require at least 36 hours of use a month, or the licence can be cancelled.
    • You can stay as long as you like, but subsidised licensing ends after 5 years.
    • It is open to all nationalities with 100% foreign ownership, and company registration is handled as a one-stop service through Dubai Integrated Economic Zones Authority.
    • Day, weekly and 3-month coworking passes are available without registering a company.

    SANDBOX accelerator

    DTEC's FAQ says the SANDBOX accelerator is housed on site. SANDBOX is run by Oraseya Capital and is aimed at "ambitious pre-Seed to Seed stage technology entrepreneurs". Its site says:

    • Startups that go through to phase 2 receive US$150,000 from Oraseya Capital through a SAFE note, made up of "$110,000 cash + $40,000 program fee".
    • The programme runs for five months: a two-month diagnostics phase and a three-month sprints phase.
    • Benefits include mentoring and workshops, coworking, "$1m+ of in-kind credits from our partners", legal support, investor exposure and a demo day.
    • Selection has three stages: an application form, a screening call and a pitch to the selection committee.

    When we checked, the site said applications for the current intake close in September 2026. Check it for the next intake. Note that the US$40,000 programme fee is part of the investment amount, so the cash you receive is US$110,000.

    Who DTEC suits

    DTEC suits a tech founder who wants a straightforward Dubai free zone company with a real desk and a large startup community. If you later want investment, SANDBOX is on the same campus.

    Other UAE options worth knowing

    DIFC Innovation Licence (Dubai)

    The Dubai International Financial Centre offers an Innovation Licence for technology and innovation firms, covering areas such as AI, FinTech, InsurTech, PropTech, HealthTech and EdTech. DIFC says it is subsidised at "USD 1,500 per annum" for a period of 2 to 5 years, with access to coworking spaces, discounted visas and reduced fees for its Ignyte startup and investor platform. You apply in three steps: register interest, apply through the DIFC portal for in-principle approval, then register the entity and take DIFC space. Workspace is a separate cost from the licence. DIFC says its innovation community has more than 2,000 AI, innovation and tech firms. It is worth a look if you build fintech or sell to banks.

    ADGM (Abu Dhabi)

    If you join Hub71, you will set up under ADGM's tech startup licence, and Hub71 issues the eligibility letter you need first. ADGM's own pages blocked our checks, so we have not stated its fees here. Ask Hub71 or ADGM for the current licence cost.

    Dubai Future Foundation

    Dubai Future Accelerators has run since 2016. It pairs startups with government bodies and large companies to work on set challenges, which can lead to pilots with a public sector customer. Its sister space, AREA 2071, offers flexible office space and startup business licences. Its pages do not publish fees or equity terms, so check the current challenges before applying.

    How to choose the right hub

    Start with three questions.

    • Do you need money now? If yes, Hub71 and SANDBOX are the two options above that invest, and both take equity through a SAFE. in5, DTEC's coworking plans and the DIFC Innovation Licence do not invest.
    • Where will you and your customers be? Hub71 needs a founder in Abu Dhabi. in5, DTEC and DIFC are in Dubai. If your first customers are government bodies in Abu Dhabi or banks in DIFC, that matters more than the desk price.
    • How far along are you? in5 accepts founders with an idea or an MVP. Hub71's deck asks for traction and funding history, and SANDBOX is a selective accelerator. An idea-stage founder has a better chance at in5 or DTEC first.

    In short: to keep costs low and stay flexible, start at in5 or DTEC. If you have a product, early users and are ready to raise and relocate, apply to Hub71. If you are building fintech, compare the DIFC Innovation Licence. You can also move later: in5's FAQ describes lease options for graduates across TECOM's free zones.

    Licence, visa and free zone rules are specific to your activity, shareholders and nationality. This is general information, not legal or visa advice. Confirm with the hub and a licensed business setup adviser.

    What to have built before you apply

    None of these hubs publishes a rule that you must have a finished product. But every selection process ends with a pitch to a committee, and a working product changes that conversation. Here is what we would have ready.

    • A clickable prototype at minimum. For in5 at the idea stage, a Figma prototype of the core flow shows the committee what you mean.
    • A working MVP for Hub71 or SANDBOX. Hub71 asks for market traction in the deck. The simplest traction is real people using a real product, even a small one. An MVP that does one job well for your first users is enough.
    • A short demo video. Two minutes, recorded on a phone or screen capture, showing a user completing the main task.
    • Numbers you can defend. Sign-ups, active users, pilot customers, letters of intent. Keep them honest.
    • A clear plan for the UAE. Hub71 asks for your plans for Abu Dhabi. Know who your UAE customers are and whether you need Arabic, right-to-left layouts or local payment methods from day one.

    If you are building your MVP before applying, keep phase 1 small. Our guide to app development cost in Dubai and the UAE sets out published price ranges and how to keep an MVP budget tight. If you are weighing whether to find a technical co-founder or work with a studio, see technical co-founder vs agency.

    Frequently asked questions

    How much funding does Hub71 give startups?

    Hub71's Access Programme offers AED 250,000 in cash in exchange for equity through a SAFE note, plus AED 250,000 of in-kind incentives. High performers can get a top-up of up to AED 250,000 for additional equity. There is no application fee.

    Does in5 Dubai take equity?

    No. in5's FAQ says it does not take an equity stake. It also does not fund startups directly; it introduces startups to investors.

    How much does it cost to set up a startup company in Dubai through in5 or DTEC?

    DTEC publishes a flexi desk at AED 18,000 for year 1, with plans that include company setup. in5's archived 2024 price list showed a licence at AED 1,000 a year plus a co-working desk from AED 12,000 in year 1, with visa and establishment card costs on top. Both may have changed, so ask each hub for a current written quote.

    Do I need to live in Abu Dhabi to join Hub71?

    Hub71 expects at least one founder to relocate to Abu Dhabi long-term and to be on the ground for the first three months. You do not have to limit your operations to Abu Dhabi.

    Can I apply to in5 with just an idea?

    Yes. Dubai Internet City says entrepreneurs with a business idea or a minimum viable product in tech, design or media can apply. A prototype will still help your pitch to the committee.

    Where can I get pre-seed or seed funding in the UAE?

    Of the programmes in this guide, Hub71 (AED 250,000 via SAFE) and DTEC's SANDBOX accelerator (US$150,000 via SAFE for startups that reach phase 2, including a US$40,000 programme fee) invest at pre-seed and seed. in5 and DIFC connect startups with investors but do not invest themselves.

    What is the difference between a free zone licence and a hub?

    The licence is your legal company. The hub is the programme and space around it. in5 startups get a Dubai Development Authority licence, DTEC startups register through Dubai Integrated Economic Zones Authority, and Hub71 startups take an ADGM tech licence. This is general information, not legal advice.

    Can I build my MVP with a team outside the UAE?

    None of the hub pages we reviewed restrict who builds your product. Hub71 says you do not need to limit your operations to Abu Dhabi. What you must keep is the local presence each hub requires, such as desk use at DTEC or a relocated founder at Hub71.

    This is general information, not legal, tax, visa or financial advice.

    How DevForge can help

    DevForge is a founder-led product studio with its team in India. We take founders from idea to MVP in 4 to 8 weeks, you own 100% of the code and IP, and we sign an NDA before our first working session. We do not have a UAE office; we work with UAE founders remotely, and India is 1.5 hours ahead of UAE time, so our working days overlap.

    We have built for UAE clients before, including an insurance marketplace with web and React Native mobile apps and a UAE job portal. If you want a working product and a demo ready before your Hub71, in5 or DTEC application, read about our MVP development for UAE founders, app development and AI development, or visit our UAE page. Book a free 30-minute call.

    Sources

    Was this article helpful?
    Share:

    Recent Blogs

    Explore more articles from our team of experts.

    App & MVP Development Cost in Australia (2026)

    App development cost in Australia in 2026 (AUD): what agencies quote for an MVP, mobile and complex app, hourly rates and running costs.

    Read post

    App & MVP Development Cost in the UK (2026)

    App development cost in the UK in 2026: what UK guides quote for an MVP, mobile and complex app, UK day rates, and what drives the price.

    Read post

    Technical Co-founder vs Agency: How to Choose

    Equity partner or paid build? What YC and Carta data say about co-founder splits, when an agency MVP makes sense, and what to demand from any agency.

    Read post

    Ready to Build Something Amazing?

    Let's transform your ideas into powerful digital solutions.

    Get in Touch